Uni Update: Alpine Adventure

I am happy to show you all my final collection as part of the 8 week project.. Alpine Adventure. I worked on this project for 3 weeks. I wrote a small statment for this one, I felt that it was important to explain that I was not trying to create this collection to have any hidden meanings or large conceptual ideas behind it, I created it for its purely for its aesthetics. It is quirky and a bit of fun, so here you go:

DSC_0246_copy

Light Hearted but thoroughly loved original textile designs.

my interest is to create quirky and innocent alternatives to textile design. Creating light hearted and fun designs for textile home wares.
I am inspired by everyday items and quirky themes, considering but never restricted by trends; I create what I enjoy and enjoy what I create. ”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have only featured a few of the designs here in the visualisations, the rest can be seen below
I created each character to have their own personality I even know their favourite foods and their zodiac sign! The character you can see are Jack the bear, Lola the deer, Nigel the fox and June the bird!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This collection I have really enjoyed making, I designed loads of different characters from the ones you see here which is a shame I didn’t get to use them all! I think I started to see my signature style returning in these designs, I felt as though I had lost it in the past year or so, it was nice to see it returning!

I would love to know what you all think of these designs as I am at a point where I need to decide what to carry forward into my final major project. Do you think these designs are buy-able in today’s market? Are they too childish? or are they just your cup of tea? I would really appreciate any feedback given!
Thanks Kayleigh x

All images belong to © Kayleigh Marie Gregory 2013

Leave a comment